About Us

In September 2016, West Somerset and Taunton Deane councils agreed to become one single authority called Somerset West and Taunton. The new district would not be a unitary authority, with Somerset County Council still performing its functions. The new council came into effect on April 1st 2019, with the first elections to the new council in May 2019.

In the elections, the Liberal Democrats won a majority. The Party won 30 of the 59 seats to secure a majority of one. Independent councillors made up the second largest group with 14 seats. The Conservatives finished in third place with 10 seats, with Labour on 3 and the Greens on 2.


There are now around 550 staff with the main administrative centre at the refurbished Deane House in Taunton. There is another large office in Williton in the former West Somerset district. The DLO staff are based in the Depot in Wellington.

Organisational Chart

Behaviour Framework

Summary map

Draft Corporate Plan (This plan is in draft form only and has yet to be formally adopted by the council)